MoveIt is an open source project that is the result of the combined efforts of a large international community and multiple organizations. Many people have played a key role in making MoveIt what it is today and they are awknowledged below - thank you!

The primary governance of MoveIt takes place during monthly meetings of the maintainers and core contributors through majority vote. Organizational leadership and administration is lead by PickNik Robotics.


MoveIt maintainers, commonly referred to as “committers” in other open source projects, are the seasoned experts of the MoveIt project and the only ones who can merge pull requests.

Name Organization GitHub ID
Dave Coleman PickNik Robotics davetcoleman
Robert Haschke CITEC, Bielefeld University rhaschke
Michael Görner University of Hamburg v4hn
Isaac IY Saito Plus One Robotics 130s
Ian McMahon Toyota Research Institute IanTheEngineer
Gijs van der Hoorn Delft Univ. of Tech / ROS-I gavanderhoorn
Jorge Nicho SwRI / ROS-I jrgnicho
Bence Magyar Heriot-Watt University bmagyar
Mike Lautman PickNik Robotics mlautman
Jon Binney Iron Ox jonbinney
Henning Kayser PickNik Robotics henningkayser
Bryce Willey Realtime Robotics BryceStevenWilley
Mark Moll PickNik Robotics mamoll

Core Contributors

We have a stringent process for giving commit access to the code base to ensure quality, but we want to have as many people involved in reviewing pull requests and responding to issues. We have a non-commit access category of MoveIt experts we call “Core Contributors” - these participants are recognized for their hard work and contributions to MoveIt early on and are listed in the CODEOWNERS file. See the full maintainer policy.

Name Organization GitHub ID
Michael Ferguson Independent Consultant mikeferguson
Zak Kingston Rice University zkingston
Felix von Drigalski OMRON SINIC X Corporation felixvd
Simon Schmeißer isys vision simonschmeisser
William Baker Houston Mechatronics willcbaker
Andy Zelenak PickNik Robotics AndyZe
Mohmmad El khzragy TUM MohmadAyman
Kei Okada JSK Lab, Univ of Tokyo k-okada
Martin Günther DFKI mintar
Shingo Kitagawa JSK Lab, Univ of Tokyo knorth55
Yan Yu Intel RoboticsYY
Víctor Mayoral Acutronic Robotics vmayoral
Anas Mchichou Acutronic Robotics anasarrak
Levi Armstrong SwRI / ROS-I Levi-Armstrong

Other Contributors

For a full list of users who have submitted pull requests to MoveIt, see the Github Insights


PickNik was founded with the mission of growing the MoveIt project through community building and contract consulting.

Acutronic sponsored a collaborative effort in 2019 to begin the port of MoveIt to ROS 2.0. Learn More

Franka Emika sponsored a codesprint in 2018 to improve MoveIt’s tutorials, documentation, and website. Learn more.

History and Acknowledgements

MoveIt’s first commit was October 2011. MoveIt was initially developed at Willow Garage by Sachin Chitta, Ioan Sucan, Gil E. Jones, Acorn Pooley, Suat Gedikli, and Dave Hershberger and we thank Willow Garage for its support of the MoveIt project. We would also like to thank SRI International for its support of the MoveIt project between October 2013 and June 2015. Since then, PickNik has been leading the support of the MoveIt project.

We gratefully acknowledge the early contributions of the following people to MoveIt and associated packages that MoveIt uses:

  • Lydia Kavraki, Mark Moll, and associated members of the Kavraki Lab (Rice University) for developing OMPL - a suite of randomized planners that MoveIt uses extensively.

  • Dinesh Manocha and Jia Pan of UNC Chapel Hill for developing FCL - a package of collision checking algorithm used extensively by MoveIt

  • Maxim Likhachev (CMU), Ben Cohen (Penn) and Mike Phillips (CMU) for developing SBPL, a search-based planning library integrated with MoveIt

  • Armin Hornung, Kai Wurm, Maren Bennewitz, Cyril Stachniss, and Wolfram Burgard for developing Octomap - software for 3D occupancy mapping used by MoveIt

  • Mrinal Kalakrishnan, Peter Pastor and Stefan Schaal at USC for developing STOMP and CHOMP

  • Dave Coleman for developing the MoveIt Setup Assistant, OMPL algorithms, and taking leadership of the MoveIt project since 2016.

  • Michael Ferguson for the simple controller manager plugin, inspiring World MoveIt Day, and helping revamp the MoveIt project in 2016.

  • Edward Gil Jones, Matei Ciocarlie, Kaijen Hsiao, Adam Leeper, and Ken Anderson for their seminal contributions of Arm Navigation and Grasping Pipeline components that MoveIt evolved from.

  • Contributions of Willow Garage interns who have worked on MoveIt, Arm Navigation, and associated components

  • Members of the ROS and PR2 communities who have used, provided feedback and provided contributions to MoveIt

  • ROS-Industrial consortium led by the Southwest Research Institute and Fraunhofer IPA for applying MoveIt to industrial robots.

  • Open Robotics for playing an advisory role, maintaining ROS, and providing the infrastructure for releasing packages

Maintainer Alumni

We would like to acknowledge past maintainers of MoveIt who have since moved on. Their great work made this project what it is today:

Name Past Organization GitHub ID
Sachin Chitta Kinema Systems sachinchitta
Ioan Sucan Google X isucan
Dave Hershburger Kinema Systems hersh
Acorn Pooley SRI International N/A

Citing MoveIt